Beauty and the Beast (2017)

by Niki Kefala

Disney’s “Beauty and the Beast” is a re-telling of the studio’s animated classic which refashions the classic characters from the tale for a contemporary audience, staying true to the original music while updating the score with several new songs. There’s an emotional authenticity in director Bill Condon’s live-action film that helps you rediscover Disney’s beloved 1991 animated movie that is also performed with exquisite timing and grace by the outstanding cast. But the problem here, I think, is weirdly simple. This Beauty as well- designed, entertaining and romantic it is, it made me want to revisit the original.

 

One thought on “Beauty and the Beast (2017)

  1. Just saw this tonight. My daughter & I really enjoyed it. My only gripe is we didn’t go the 3d route because it hurts my eyes, but there were several scenes in which the focus was really off. It hurt my eyes & really took me out of it if only for a minute.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

