Norwegian design: frankremme on nikisreviews

by Niki Kefala

“These are the clothes of my dreams”  says fashion designer and industry veteran Frank Remme about his eponymous label “frankremme”. “This collection is the sum of me.” Frank Remme launched his first collection in XX, 2014 after having worked more than 20 years in the European and Scandinavian fashion industry. Remme’s work experience range from iconic haute couture houses such as Christian Dior and Christian Lacroix to commercial brands such as H&M and WEsC. Thank you for the interview, Frank Remme!

Tell us about your label.

I’ve always wanted to launch my own brand, and finally it felt like the right time. No matter what, you always make compromises when working for others. For example, when I entered the world of street wear at WEsC, I compared it to acting and me taking on a role. Now, I’m directing my own movie! Having returned to my native Norway in 2011, I am now eager to push the frontiers of the country’s exciting fashion scene.

image004

What is the secret for a good collection?

Designing a collection just to provoke and solicit knee-jerk reactions is not hard to do. But to create stand-out collections made up of clothes people actually want to buy and wear, year after year – that’s success in my book. Great quality in fabrics and design, a high degree of comfort, durability, versatility and full focus on sustainability in all aspects of the production are just some of the key ingredients that our team focuses on in order to achieve our goals of succeeding.

It is important to us that everyone involved in the process of making our clothes are treated well and I am committed to inspecting all facilities which are involved in the production of my collections.

 

Lookbook AW 201621Lookbook AW 201619Lookbook AW 201615

Your creations are made for what type of women?

Equally important is the end result. I always seek to construct items that fit the body well. I’m a sucker for great silhouettes and everything that is beautiful. Because my clothes are made to be worn!

Lookbook AW 20163Lookbook AW 20164Lookbook AW 20165

Lookbook AW 20162

Leave a Reply

