My Big Fat Greek Wedding 2 (2016)

by Niki Kefala

It’s been 14 years since Nia Vardalo’s warm comedy about her big Greek family became a blockbuster and this one I think, is mostly made for the fans of the first flick. There are many amusing moments and comic performances, but on the whole, this is an instantly forgettable experience. But despite a lot of negative reviews, I really liked this sequel and I enjoy it while I was watching it. It was very well done unlike a lot of sequels that can’t hold up to the original, fun, emotional, nostalgic and… stereotypically sweet, especially for a Greek viewer like me. And just for your information, Greek weddings are not made anymore like this ones on Vardalo’s movies. Ante gia mas!

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt3760922/reviews-47

Έχουν περάσει 14 χρόνια από τότε που η Νία Βαρντάλος έφτιαξε μια ζεστή κωμωδία για την μεγάλη ελληνική οικογένειά της και έσπασε τα ταμεία. Αυτή η ταινία νομίζω, έγινε ως επί το πλείστον για τους φαν της πρώτης. Υπάρχουν πολλές διασκεδαστικές στιγμές και κωμικές ερμηνείες, αλλά σε γενικές γραμμές, τον “Γάμο αλά Ελληνικά 2” τον ξεχνάς εύκολα. Όμως, παρά τις αρνητικές κριτικές, μου άρεσε πολύ αυτό το sequel και το απόλαυσα όσο το παρακολουθούσα. Είναι καλοφτιαγμένο σε αντίθεση με πολλές συνέχειες που δεν μπορούν να συναγωνιστούν την πρωτότυπη ταινία, διασκεδαστικό, συναισθηματικό, νοσταλγικό και … στερεοτυπικά γλυκό, ειδικά για έναν Έλληνα θεατή σαν κι εμένα. Άντε γεια μας!

2 thoughts on “My Big Fat Greek Wedding 2 (2016)

  1. I have to say I’m always surprised that this is the best selling romantic comedy of all time because while I remember enjoying it, I don’t really remember much about it & it’s not my favorite of time. This looks like it will be fun though.

    sidenote: they may have overly photoshopped Nia in this promo. 😦

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

