Traveling the world with Ainsley

by Niki Kefala

Ainsley DS is a New Zealand freelance photographer, who has been wandering the globe since 2013. She is totally addicted to travel and while she was nannying for a very rich family in Turkey, she decided to create her own blog. Let’s follow her amazing travels. Thank you for the interview Ainsley!

First of all I would like to introduce yourself.

I am a freelance photographer and blogger who suffers from a constant state of FOMO unless I am traveling. I studied photojournalism at AUT University in New Zealand and after finishing my degree packed it all up, threw it (almost) all away and ran off to travel the world in 2013. While making my way through Europe, I fell madly in love with Paris and after spending a good few months in Africa, decided to go back and make it my home.

Now in Paris, living the bohemian dream, I mainly work with tour companies and tourists wanting portrait pictures in Paris, but still try to do as much travel and photojournalism work as possible. I am totally addicted to travel, love fashion (shoes and lingerie are my weakness), good food, wine, cocktails, art, music and films. My wide and varied tastes in these departments have helped me enjoy some pretty amazing experiences that I would have never dreamed of as a teenager coming from a small town of an island at the bottom of the world. I know I am incredibly lucky to be able to do what I do and I appreciate that everyday.

Why did you create your own blog http://ainsleyabouttheworld.com/ ?

I began writing my blog mainly for friends and family to keep up with some of the insane things I was doing while overseas. At the time I was nannying for a ridiculously rich (but insane) family in Turkey, and I kind of started the blog as a running commentary documenting all the crazy things that would happen. Then it went a little bit viral, so I kept it up, and today I am working on expanding it to city, restaurant and food reviews. So far it has followed me through Turkey, working on Superyachts in the Med, living, traveling and volunteering in Ghana, traveling through France, The Netherlands, Brussels, Greece, Singapore, New Zealand, Romania, Italy, fashion week in Paris and a whole load of ups and downs all over the place.

I have people all over the world reading about my real life and often comical tales, and my favorite thing to hear is that I am inspiring people to go new places or travel somewhere they had never previously thought of. To me, that is huge.

Your best and worst fashion choice ever was…?

Mmm… Worst would have to be when I was about 11/12 years-old and I thought knee high rainbow colored socks were all the rage (thankfully I was not alone in this faux-pas). I think any thing I wore when I was that age and going along with whatever was “cool” at the time, is probably where my worst fashion moments came from.

My best? That’s hard to say. My style is constantly evolving and changing, and I have a very eclectic wardrobe. I am obsessed with vintage pieces, especially vintage couture. I like to dress chic, and sophisticated, but will often mix it up with something a little more “street”. I would say my favorite and most worn purchase would be my mustard cashmere coat I bought a few years ago from a market in Melbourne. I have worn it so much I started to become known as “the girl in the yellow coat” and have had countless number of compliments on it. It’s one of those pieces that I can throw on over any outfit and it instantly feels complete.

DSC_0747

What makes a great photograph?

A lot of different things come in to play when creating a great photography. The first thing to note is that “great” can mean a lot of different things to different people. Everyone has their own tastes and preferences, some prefer photos which are more abstract, with higher editing and dramatic light sources, some prefer really clean shots with straight lines and an obvious subject matter.

It really depends on what you like. For me, the most important thing is composition and lighting. Where your subject is placed in the image makes all the difference as to how much importance they will be given by the viewer. Making sure you have no distractions unnecessary objects, too much or too little blank space makes a huge difference and can completely change the feel of the image. Lighting makes all the difference when it comes to setting the mood or tone of the images. The brighter they are the brighter they feel, where as images with low lighting can create a beautiful moody tone.

As well as this, no matter how good you are with the technical side of things, you really have to have a passion for what you are photographing. Your photos are never going to be good if you want to be a portrait photographer but you hate working with people. Choose something that genuinely interests you and that passion will come through on your images.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

6141_orig

6981574_orig

8427148_orig

6 thoughts on “Traveling the world with Ainsley

  1. Oh gosh…I read the part about working for an ‘insanely rich turkish family’ and what’s the first thing to come to mind? The fact that Ainsley must have had access to the best lokum that money can buy! I’ve only tasted the stuff from duty-free shops at the airport or dust-covered boxes found at ethnic stores in Milan. I hardly think those could possibly be up to snuff.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

