Fashionable illustrations

by Niki Kefala

Mikayla Jenkins is a fashion illustrator from the age of… 11. She loves beauty and that’s why her drawings are a treat for the eyes. Thank you for the interview Mikayla!

First of all I would like you to introduce yourself.

I am a fashion illustrator based out of Northern California. I’m a self-taught artist and I remember drawing my first fashion oriented pieces around the age of 11. For me, illustration had always been a hobby, and I pretty much kept my drawings to myself. On a whim, 3 years ago I started a blog to share my illustrations. Before starting my blog, I had never considered illustrating professionally. But the experience of sharing my illustrations via my blog and social media gave me the confidence to start illustrating professionally.

Where do you find the inspiration for your illustrations?

I have so many sources of inspiration, but if I had to narrow it down to my 3 main influences, it would be the following:

  • I’m so inspired by Rene Gruau and Antonio Lopez, who are classic fashion illustrators. I love the movement and color in their pieces. Their illustrations not only celebrate fashion, but also the women wearing the fashion. I try to emulate their approach in my pieces, but I do it in a way that is true to who I am as a artist.
  • I am inspired by women who are comfortable in their own skin, and are not limited by categories and labels. Like Gruau and Lopez, I try to celebrate both fashion and women in my work. And the women I like to celebrate don’t “stay in their own lane” but make their own “lane.” That’s who I aspire to be, so that’s why I try to put that “vibe” into my pieces.
  • Often my pieces are inspired by an outfit, a particular garment of clothing, a divine accessory, or incredible make up application. When I was a kid, I would draw what I wanted to wear. And honestly, I still draw my fashion and beauty “cravings” now. My fashion and beauty tastes depend on my mood, so my illustrations tend to reflect my eclectic tastes.

Why would someone visit your site http://sublimecravings.com/ ?

My art is for those who are a bit fashion and beauty obsessed, like me.

The illustration that you are dreaming to do is… ?

Many of my pieces are inspired by the designs of high end fashion designers, so I would love collaborate with a high end designer.

valentino

Valentino Spring 2015

G VALLI

Giambattista Valli Couture Spring 2015

chanel-feathers-and-sequins

Chanel Couture Fall 2014

cloe

Chloe Fall 2015

4 thoughts on “Fashionable illustrations

Leave a Reply

