Dubai’s street style by Olga

by Niki Kefala

Dubai is an exciting city to live right now. Olga Lobanova, is a Russian girl who left behind her the cold, and came to the hot and sandy United Arab Emirates, to capture, on her own blog, the street style of people there. Lets follow her! Thank you for the interview Olga!

First of all I would like to introduce yourself.

I was born and raised in Russia, studied in Germany, and since 6 years based here in Dubai. As many of the expats, I came here because of better job chances comparing to my home country or Europe. It took me a while to realize what I want to do job-wise, and, after gaining experiences in online publishing and brand management, I ended up looking after the e-commerce at the coolest fashion store in Dubai – WEST L.A.

Why did you start your blog www.sandinthecity.net?

I always loved fashion, and in particular street style. I used to read The Glam Canyon, Berlin-based street style blog, which is currently not much updated. This project probably gave me the biggest inspiration for my blog at the very beginning. It is also http://www.TheStreetMuse.it and http://www.TheLocals.dk, well-known street style bloggers who influenced me a lot.

When I moved to Dubai in 2010, I noticed there are people, who have amazing visual character and who don’t hesitate to express their unique style, but there were no fashion blogs to showcase them.

After noticing the lack of street style blogs here, I hatched the idea to start my own. I basically woke up one day and decided to start shooting street style myself and share the images in a blog. I started shooting friends, which were bloggers and then slowly built up the courage to attend fashion weeks for the purpose of shooting street style.

I am often asked about the name “Sand In The City”. My friend came up with the name, when we got stuck in the desert during a massive sand storm.

Why someone to visit your blog?

Good question. A typical reader of my blog would be someone, who follows fashion and trends, but doesn’t narrow his landscape to the fashion shows and Vogue editorials. Someone who is keen to discover trends on the streets of Dubai would find interesting stuff in my blog. Plus people who participate in open-air events in Dubai and hope that they were snapped and their photos are up in the blog.

Your best and worst fashion choice ever was…?

For me fashion has to feel authentic, inspiring … and comfortable. The worst fashion choice for me (and probably for thousands other girls) is a pair of beautiful heels worn for much longer than initially planned. My best choice is always a pair of quality sneakers, at the moment I am obsessed with Adidas Originals Superstar in snow-white. They look super sharp with everything, even a dress or suite.

Style is to you…

The way how to visually express things that are important to me.

Olga_Lobanova_blogger_Dubai-1024x682

Some of her street style photos

sisters-Abdelaziz-5

fashion-forward-dubai-street-style-6

One thought on “Dubai’s street style by Olga

Leave a Reply

